

## I&EC Research 2018 Excellence in Review Awards

t is Peer Review Week again (September 10–15, 2018) and this is when *Industrial & Engineering Chemistry Research* announces its Excellence in Review Award winners. Before announcing the winners, though, I want to draw attention to a great resource for reviewers. Because the role of reviewers is so central to scientific publishing, ACS has launched the ACS Reviewer Lab {https://www.acsreviewerlab.org/}. This valuable resource provides free training in how to evaluate manuscripts and prepare first-rate reviews. Even seasoned reviewers could find it beneficial to spend a few minutes at the site. Authors will also benefit by seeing what good reviewers are looking for when assessing a manuscript.

I&EC Research greatly appreciates the more than 5000 people who have completed reviews for us during the last 12 months. These reviewers give of their time, experience, and expertise to guide our editors, assist our authors, and advance the effective communication of chemical research.

We recognize here 29 reviewers who have made especially notable contributions to I&EC Research during the past 12 months. These reviewers, from 15 different countries on five different continents, were recommended by our editors on the basis of having provided multiple reviews, often within days, that are exceptionally substantive. Our entire team of editors is delighted to honor and thank these 2018 Excellence in Review Award recipients. Their contributions are vital to maintaining I&EC Research as the general chemical engineering journal that is the world's largest, most cited, and fastest to publication.

- Morris Argyle, Brigham Young University, USA
- \*Jason Bara, University of Alabama, USA
- Vinay Bhandari, CSIR National Chemical Laboratory, India
- Jose Caballero, University of Alicante, Spain
- \*\*I-Lung Chien, National Taiwan University, Taiwan
- Neal Tai-Shung Chung, National University of Singapore, Singapore
- Fan Dong, Chongqing Technology and Business University, China
- Antonio Flores-Tlacuahuac, Monterrey Institute of Technology and Higher Education, Mexico
- Geoffrey Geise, University of Virginia, USA
- Vinod Gupta, University of Johannesburg, South Africa
- Olaf Hinrichsen, Technical University of Munich, Germany
- Yuan Hu, University of Science and Technology of China, China
- Faisal Khan, Memorial University of Newfoundland, Canada
- Georgios Kontogeorgis, Technical University of Denmark, Denmark
- James Krumhansl, Sandia National Laboratory, USA
- Moonyong Lee, Yeungnam University, S. Korea
- Guangsheng Luo, Tsinghua University, China
- \*Zheng-Hong Luo, Shanghai Jiao Tong University, China
- Xinbin Ma, Tianjin University, China
- Ahmet Palazoglu, University of California, Davis, USA

- Ilya Polishuk, Ariel University, Israel
- Zhiwen Qi, East China University of Science and Technology, China
- D. P. Rao, IIT Kanpur, India
- Alirio Rodrigues, University of Porto, Portugal
- Masoud Soroush, Drexel University, USA
- Ranjeet Utikar, Curtin University, Australia
- Kevin Van Geem, Ghent University, Belgium
- Jennifer Wilcox, Colorado School of Mines, USA
- \*\*Fengqi You, Cornell University, USA

(A single asterisk (\*) indicates an awardee who was also an Excellence in Review recipient in 2017. A double asterisk (\*\*) indicates an awardee who was also an Excellence in Review recipient in 2016 and 2017.)

Phillip E. Savage, Editor-in-Chief

The Pennsylvania State University, United States

## AUTHOR INFORMATION

## ORCID ®

Phillip E. Savage: 0000-0002-7902-3744

## Notes

Views expressed in this editorial are those of the author and not necessarily the views of the ACS.

Published: September 12, 2018

12017